

Competition in Connections (CiC) Code of Practice Panel

Tuesday 21 March 2017 14:00

Teleconference

Meeting Notes

Attendees:

Glyn Jones (Chair)	(GJ)	MCCG
Catherine Falconer	(CF)	SSEPD
Paul McGimpsey	(PM)	Scottish Power
Brian Hoy	(BH)	Electricity North West
Dave Ball	(DB)	NERS (observer)
Neil Magrath	(NM)	UK Power Networks
Tim Hughes	(TH)	Western Power Distribution
Graham Smith	(GS)	UCCG
David Overman	(DO)	CNA
Gareth Pritchard	(GP)	UCCG
Kieran M ^c Girr	(KM)	Energy Networks Association
<u>Apologies</u>		
Ray Farrow	(RF)	Customer Representative (observer)
Neil Fitzsimons	(NF)	MCCG
Geoff Earl	(GE)	Northern Powergrid
Stephen Morris	(SM)	CNA

Welcome

GJ welcomed the group to the meeting.

Competitions Act

GJ reminded the group of the need to adhere to the obligations of the Competition Act and these were listed at the back of all agendas. The group agreed to comply and no-one had any issues.

Previous Minutes

The group agreed that the minutes from the 20th December 2016 were an accurate reflection of that meeting.

Review of Modification Report - Transfer of Control

There was a discussion about the modification report. There was concern expressed from BH

that the reference to the control centre could be construed to limit the scope of what could be done under Option 3 and hence it would be a consequential change. IDNO representatives said that, for example when spiking cables, they would notify the DNO control centre as a matter of course and the panel was satisfied that the wording would not be interpreted in the incorrect way and was not a significant cause for concern. It was noted that there were a number of representatives from the IDNO community on the working group.

The Panel agreed unanimously that the modification was non-consequential and would not therefore need to go to public consultation.

Vote to Send Modification Proposal

The Panel voted as follows:

Name	Decision	
Brian Hoy - ENWL	Approve	
Catherine Falconer – SSEN	Approve	
David Overman - CNA	Approve	
Gareth Pritchard – UCCG	Approve	
Geoff Earl – NPg	Approve (submitted vote via email)	
Glyn Jones – MCCG	Approve	
Graham Smith – UCCG	Approve	
Paul McGimpsey – SPEN	Approve	
Neil Fitzsimons – MCCG	Approve (submitted vote via email)	
Neil Magrath – UKPN	Approve	
Stephen Morris - CNA	Approve (submitted vote via email)	
Tim Hughes – WPD	Approve	

The Panel voted to send the modification to Ofgem with a recommendation to approve.

SHE Committee - CiC CoP Website Request

The proposition from the ENA SHE Committee was for the Code of Practice website links to DNOs websites to provide information on PPEs, policies and procedures. The overwhelming viewpoint of the group was that this would not be an appropriate use of the Code of Practice, which is concerned with governance of the Code, and could lead to a blurring of the responsibilities of the group. There was also concern expressed that this would open the floodgates to other information being hosted on the CiCCoP website.

GJ took an action to discuss with GE and provide a response to the SHE Committee.

Budget for Panel for 2017/2018

KM gave a brief overview of the budget for the next financial year, as agreed with DNOs. The group all affirmed that ENA would remain as Code Administrator for that year.

Meeting Dates

The Panel decided to book a meeting for 20th June 2017 to be held at ENA Offices.